Menu Home

Past Entries – 2006

December: December 11th of 2006 – exactly 65 years after John Magee perished in 1941.  There was a memorial service at Digby, England – stay tuned, I hope to be getting some pictures as well as some video of the occasion.

November: I have released a new version of the High Flight Compilation DVD, and am calling it Volume 1+2.  It combines Volume I and Volume II onto one DVD. 

Last summer I had a major change of direction on this project.  The more I learned about John Magee and his life, the more I came to feel that his story rated being made into a feature film instead of an A&E-style biography.  On August 1st, I started on a feature film screenplay, and as of today (November 15th), I have 167 pages done!  I do need to trim it down a bit, as the maximum length should be around 120-130 pages.  I am really very happy with the story, and I think that it will make a grand movie!  I already have interest from an agent at a major Hollywood agency… so stay tuned!

Since deciding to make “High Flight – The Movie” instead of the straight biography, I have gotten tremendous feedback from many people.  Some are already casting the film, with Leonardo DiCaprio leading the votes for playing John Magee.  My response is that it is WAY too early to start casting the movie … but it is kinda fun … DiCaprio is too old, since I am portraying John from aged 16 to 19.  One person I thought might be good is Skandar Keynes, the actor who played Edmund Pevensie in “The Chronicles of Narnia.”  Please stay tuned – I will try and keep this website updated as to the progress!

April: Time flies, as usual.  I am polishing the script to the High Flight movie, and will be hopefully attracting some attention to it within the next few months.

I will be speaking at the May meeting of the Beaverton Chapter of the Oregon Pilots Association, on Friday, May 5th, 7:30 p.m., at the Twin Oaks Airport near Beaverton.

I have added a new section about interesting facts concerning JGM, to which I will be adding things once in awhile.

Categories: General Uncategorized

Tagged as:

highflight

Leave a Reply

