Menu Home

Past Entries – 2007

November:  If I thought May came quickly, then November really got here fast! 

I have re-written the script several times and am narrowing in on what I think is a great end result.  So stay tuned!

I continue to do research on Magee, his life and times.

May:  Can it be nearly the end of May already?  How time flies…  I have been working on the screenplay quite a bit, while continuing doing research on Magee.  I have acquired a complete copy of Magee’s RCAF logbook, and have discovered the exact date that he made a flight up to 33,000 feet (the letter to his parents which contained High Flight mentions that he was inspired to write the poem during a flight to 30,000 feet… an uncommon occurrence while at an Operational Training Unit).  The date?  August 18th, 1941.

I have also discovered a bit of trivia that I will share in the Interesting Facts area (above).  All I can say is: it’s a small world, and the Six Degrees of Seperation thing is really true! (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Six_degrees_of_separation)

I will be speaking on John Magee and High Flight at the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) Fly-In, Arlington, Washington on Wednesday, July 11th and Thursday July 12th at noon, plus on Sunday July 15th at 10:30.  (www.nweaa.org)

I am very excited to have been selected to speak at the EAA AirVenture event at Oshkosh, Wisconsin.  My talk will take place on Saturday, July 28th at 11:30, at the Museum.  For those of you who don’t know, “Oshkosh” (as the event is generally known) is the largest aviation event in the world.  Where else in the world can you get a ride in one of *THREE* tri-motored aircraft?  Where else can you see flying aircraft that run the range from the F-22 Raptor to a Curtis Jenny?  Where else do they park 15,000 aircraft on the field?  During the aircraft arrival period, Wittman Field becomes the busiest airport in the world.  It’s all pretty amazing.  I have been there several times, and now I have the honor of speaking there!  I’m jazzed! ( www.airventure.org )

Hopefully I will see you at one (or both) of the events.  If you do attend, please come up and introduce yourself!

Categories: General Uncategorized

Tagged as:

highflight

Leave a Reply

